2011 Tour de Pologne

Sport DagAmer0221 August 8, 2016 0 1
On July 31, 2011 Pruszków start in the Tour of Poland. This seven-day stage race is part of the World Tour.


The Tour of Poland is a stage race with a long history. The first edition was organized in 1928 by the Polish sports newspaper Przegląd Sportowy and a cycling club in Warsaw.
After World War II the race was revived by the Polish Cycling Federation, in collaboration with a group of journalists and newspaper publisher Czytelnik.
Since the communist regime officially allowed only amateur sport, there were decades no pros compete in the Tour of Poland. That changed after the fall of the Iron Curtain.

Czeslaw Lang

Since 1993 Czeslaw Lang is the organizer of this competition. Over the years, he managed to make the Tour of Poland the key rate in Eastern Europe. In 2005 the race became part of the ProTour and now the price is included in the World Tour.
Czeslaw Lang used incidentally, himself a successful driver. In 1980 he won the Tour of Poland.
In the same year he won the silver medal at the Olympic road race in Moscow, which was won by the untouchable Sergei Sukhoruchenkov

Participants in 2011

All WorldTour teams participate in this round. There are wild cards awarded to the Dutch Skil-Shimano, the Italian De Rosa, CCC Polsat Polkowice, Poland and the Polish national selection

Course 2011


Three riders have managed three times to win the Tour of Poland:
Marian Wieckowski, Andrzej Mierzejewski and Dariusz Baranowski.
For today's cycling enthusiasts Baranowski is the best known of the three. For instance, he rode for Banesto, Liberty Seguros and US Postal.
He is currently 39 years, but he is still active as a cyclist.
In July 2011 Baranowski won a stage in the Czech Cycling Tour and it was second in the final standings.