2013 Tour of Flanders ?? trail, start list, favorites

Sport thebrolaf August 8, 2016 0 1
On Sunday, March 31st, 2013 is the 97th edition of the Tour of Flanders took place. This contest is part of the UCI World Tour.


A century ago, in 1913, this competition was first held. The Tour of Flanders was coined by the legendary sports journalist Karel van Wijnendaele. The event was originally intended primarily to promote his newspaper, "The world of sports". That is something that happened in that period of cycling often: even the Tour de France and the Giro d'Italia were originally conceived as publicity stunts for newspapers. Over the years, grew this three publicity stunts, the Tour, the Giro and the Tour of Flanders, to enormous monuments in the cycling world. Considered by many the Tour of Flanders is today regarded as the most beautiful Classic on Earth. Known nicknames of the Tour of Flanders is the Flemish Flanders' Most Beautiful and high mass. Five cyclists are record holders when it comes to the greatest number of victories in Flanders' Most Beautiful: Achiel Buysse, Fiorenzo Magni, Eric Leman, Johan Museeuw and Tom Boonen. They succeeded all three times to win this classic. Tom Boonen thus wins the race in 2013, he is on his own record.

Participants: World Tour teams and wildcards

All nineteen teams in the 2013 season have a WorldTour license, will participate in this competition. In addition, the organization has handed out wildcards to the following ProContinentale Teams: Europcar, NetApp-Endura, IAM, Vini Fantini, Accent Jobs, Crelan-Euphony and Topsport-Vlaanderen.

Participants: starting list with numbers

Here Below you will find the final selections of the participating teams for the 2013 Tour of Flanders.


The unofficial start is at 10 am in Sint-Michiels, which is a suburb of Bruges. Afterwards lay the cyclists few kilometers neutralized, behind the car of the race committee. The official start is at a quarter past ten in Loppem. The race is 256 kilometers long. The finish is around half past five in Oudenaarde. Below is an overview of the slopes that have to climb the drivers on the road, and behind mentioned how many race kilometers are the top of the hills, and the time when these drivers will arrive there about.
Slopes - timetable
  • Tiegemberg - after 90.7 km. - At about 12u25
  • Taaienberg - after 112.6 km. - At about 12u56
  • Eikenberg - after 199 km. - At about 13u05
  • Molenberg - after 134.2 km. - At about 13u27
  • Rekelberg - after 148.5 km. - At about 13u47
  • Berendries - after 159.3 km. - At about 13u55
  • Valkenberg - after 159.3 km. - At about 14u03
  • Old Kwaremont - after 182 km. - To 14u35
  • Paterberg - after 185.4 km. - To 14h40
  • Koppenberg - after 192 km. - At about 14u49
  • Steenbeekdries - after 197.4 km. - At about 14u57
  • Kruisberg / Hotond - after 209.2 km. - At about 15u14
  • Old Kwaremont - after 219.1 km. - To 15u28
  • Paterberg - after 222.5 km. - To 15u33
  • High Mountain / Hotond - after 229.5 km. - At about 15u43
  • Old Kwaremont - after 239.3 km. - At about 15u57
  • Paterberg - after 242.7 km. - At about 16u02

  • Favourites

    The favorites for the Tour of Flanders are Fabian Cancellara and Peter Sagan. Triple Tour of Flanders winner Tom Boonen was due to various injuries by no means an ideal preparation for this course, but he should certainly not be considered at all chance to play for the victory in Flanders' Most Beautiful 2013. Other contenders include Sep Vanmarcke, Greg van Avermaet, Edvald Boasson Hagen and Sebastian Langeveld.

    Village Round

    In 2013, the place Rekkem in West Flanders, the honor of being the "Village of the Tour." There will thereby various festivities are organized, which are particularly intended as tributes to Paul Deman. This legendary racing driver was from this village. He won a century ago, in 1913, the first edition of the Tour of Flanders. Also on his list include victories in Bordeaux-Paris, Paris-Roubaix and Paris-Tours.


    The Tour of Flanders in 2013 will be broadcast live by Sporza, NIS and Eurosport.


    The organization of this competition is now in the hands of Flanders Classic. This organizer is led by Wouter Vandenhaute, who is also managing director in the TV production company Woestijnvis.

    Result 2012

  • Tom Boonen Omega Pharma-Quick Step 6u04'33 "
  • Filippo Pozzato Farnese Vini Selle Italia z.t. ??
  • Alessandro Ballan BMC +1 sec.
  • Greg Van Avermaet BMC +38 sec.
  • Peter Sagan, Liquigas-Cannondale z.t.
  • Niki Terpstra Omega Pharma-Quick Step z.t.
  • Luca Paolini Katusha z.t.
  • Thomas Voeckler Team Europcar z.t.
  • Matti Breschel Rabobank z.t.
  • Sylvain Chavanel of Omega Pharma-Quick Step z.t.

  • Special

    This product is part of the special on the 2013 cycling season.